No internet connection

No Internet Connection Detected

"Closing Procedure in Process" Phishing Scams

The email message below with the subject "Closing procedure in process," which claims the recipients need to update or upgrade their accounts to prevent their incoming emails from being placed on hold and then permanently disabled, is one of the many phishing scams being sent by cybercriminals to their potential victims. The fake email message was created by cybercriminals to frighten and trick the recipients into clicking on the link within it. The link goes to a phishing website or a fake website looking like Microsoft’s website, created by cybercriminals to trick potential victims into entering their Microsoft account usernames and passwords on it, by asking them to sign in. But, any attempts to sign into the fake website, will result in the victims’ Microsoft account usernames and passwords being sent to cybercriminals.

Closing Procedure in Process Phishing Scams
Advertisement

Once cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims’ account credentials (usernames and passwords), they will use it to hijack their Microsoft accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, recipients of the phishing email message (see below) who were tricked into clicking on the link within it and have attempted to sign into the phishing or fake website that they were taken, are asked to change their Microsoft account passwords immediately, before they are hijacked and used fraudulently by cybercriminals.

A Sample of the "Closing Procedure in Process" Phishing Scam

From: EMAIL MANAGEMENT TEAM <sarah_22@live.com.mx>

Sent: July 4, 2017 3:17 AM

To: noreply@outlook.com

Subject: (Closing procedure in process) Be warned

Dear user,

We noticed that some of your incoming emails was placed on-hold due to you are still operating on our old version.

Take a minute to update your account below to enjoy our full security protection.

Continue and update

Note: Failure to update your account on or before 1st July will lead to permanent disable of your account from our database.

Thank you

Copyright © 2017 Member team

Microsoft users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://account.microsoft.com/ and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done to their accounts, they will be notified. This is will prevent Microsoft users from visiting phishing websites disguised as legitimate Microsoft website that steals account credentials.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Click here help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Would you share this article with others?  +

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

There are no comments as yet, please leave one below or revisit.

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.
Advertisement

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your post will be set as an anonymous because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Advertisement
"Closing Procedure in Process" Phishing Scams