"Outlook Account Deletion" Phishing Scam

Outlook Account Deletion Phishing Scam

Outlook or Microsoft users are asked to be aware of phishing "Account Deletion" emails like the one below. The fake emails are being sent by cybercriminals to trick the recipients into clicking on the link in it. The link goes to a phishing website disguised as a Microsoft Outlook or Hotmail website. If visitors attempt to sign-in, their usernames and passwords will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam, who will use the same information to hijack their accounts and use them fraudulently.

The "Outlook Account Deletion" Phishing Scam

Subject: Complete Your Update!!

Mail Support <georgec32@outlook.com>

Fri 4/27/2018, 7:26 PM

Dear user ID ()

This is to notify you for the final time that we have stopped processing incoming emails on your account since you have refused to UPDATE your account, and we might be forced to delete your account if this noticed is ignored again.Please take a second to secure yours below....

Up.date Here

Your security is our primary concern.

Regards.

E-mail Team

This is why online users should never click on links to sign into their accounts. It is recommended that Microsoft email account users go directly to www.outlook.com and sign into their accounts. Once they have signed in, they will be notified of changes and important notifications.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Was this article helpful?  +
Share this with others:

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

There are no comments as yet, please leave one below or revisit.

To protect your privacy, please remove sensitive information from your comments, questions, or reviews. We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users when you make a post. That location is not enough to find you.

Your post will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous post cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

"Outlook Account Deletion" Phishing Scam