The "AOL Cancel De-Activation" Phishing Scam
From: Juan Merlo <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Date: 21 November 2018 at 19:16:06 GMT
Subject: Cancel De-activation
Our record indicates that you recently made a request to shutdown your email. And this request will be processed shortly.
If this request was made accidentally and you have no knowledge of it, you are advised to cancel the request now
However, if you do not cancel this request,your account will be shutdown shortly
and all your email data will be lost permanently.
AOL users who have already received the phishing email message, and who have followed the instructions in it, are asked to change their AOL account passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked by cybercriminals and used fraudulently.
AOL users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://www.aol.com and sign-in from there. They will be notified of important changes or alerts after signing in if there is any.