»

Fake and Spam Advertisement - "Your Android Has (5) Virus!"

 +
Fake and Spam Advertisement - "Your Android Has (5) Virus!"

Would you share this Article with others?

The advertisement: "Your Android Has (5) Virus!" is a fake. If you are browsing the internet on your Android device or using an app and the message pops up, please do not follow the instructions. This is because the message will always popup claiming that your Android device is infected with a virus even when it is not. This advertisement is considered spam and there is no virus or other malware threats on your device or computer.

But, the people behind the fake advertisement may alter it to trick their potential victims into clicking on it, which will take them to a fake and malicious antivirus website. On the fake website, the potential victims will be asked to download fake anti-virus or anti-malware, which will infect their devices or computers with a virus or Trojan horse.

A Fake Virus Message via an Advertisement

(3) Virus Detected
Scan and Remove Virus Now

Remember, your web browser cannot detect a Trojan horse or other malware on your mobile device or computer, only anti-virus, anti-malware or anti-spyware software can do so. So, if a message pops up in your web browser or an app that you are using, claiming that a virus, Trojan horse or any other malware was discovered on your mobile device or computer, please ignore it.

To check for viruses or malware on your mobile device or computer, always ensure that you have antivirus software installed. If you do not have antivirus software on your Android device, you can install a free or commercial one from the Google Play store. Click here to view a list of antivirus software in the Google Play store.

The fake and spam advertisement is similar to the following:

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 13)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • November 13, 2017 at 2:08 PM by an anonymous user from Battle Creek, Michigan, United States

    What do you do if you did follow the instructions that it told you do?

    remove

    • March 4, 2018 at 8:34 AM by an anonymous user from Sylva, North Carolina, United States

      If you downloaded the app that it showed you then you should uninstall the app and go see your phone provider because once the app is downloaded it puts a real virus on your device.

      remove

    • November 13, 2017 at 4:12 PM by info

      Scan your mobile device with the antivirus software on it, or download one.

      remove

  • March 7, 2017 at 3:14 AM by an anonymous user from Alexandria, Virginia, United States

    The one that says it came from adult sites has me furious. It popped up while I was showing my wife a funny video and now she thinks I have visited adult sites when I haven't. Who are these people?

    remove

    • May 16, 2017 at 11:35 AM by an anonymous user from Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States

      Got me, too. I don't use "adult sites"(if watching p*rn, called "solitaire", is "ADULT"?or ANY other).THEY are ###@@==&&#!$! or worse..KEYBOARD COWARDS,

      remove

  • January 18, 2017 at 1:56 AM by info

    Received via email:

    "The warning message is from us.aevidencej.topsays: it says I have four viurses effecting my phone with mortaola G, if I leave the page it says I will lose all my data, pics, contact etc. I'm not going to do what it tells me to do."

    remove

    • January 26, 2017 at 8:00 PM by an anonymous user from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

      That message popped up on mine so many times and I just fommated my iPad and its actually a fake! All this time after so many things I lost cause of the fake virus I though was real and making me format everything, its actually fake. I'm going to loose it.

      remove

  • December 22, 2016 at 8:05 PM by an anonymous user from Manajao, Eastern Visayas, Philippines

    What if Google warns you that your phone is infected with virus. I will believe or not.

    remove

    • December 22, 2016 at 11:09 PM by info

      Google doesn't tell you if your phone is infected with malware or viruses. Only your antivirus software can tell you that. Therefore, please do not follow the instructions from messages, that claim your phone is infected.

      If your phone was infected, your antivirus would clean or remove the virus automatically, and not tell you to visit some website and download some malicious software.

      remove

      • May 16, 2017 at 11:38 AM by an anonymous user from Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States

        Today's VERSION had GOOGLE'S symbol prominently displayed and DUMPED YOU in The PLAYSTORE(?) so,"I think, some collusion WITH THE BIG G is now the norm..SCAMMING is HOW TO GET wealthi(ER).

        remove

        • May 16, 2017 at 11:46 AM by info

          If you are saying that Google has something to do with the scams, then you are wrong. Not because the scammers or cyber criminals are using their logo or symbol, means that they are a part of it. Cyber criminals use the names or logos of big organizations to trick their victims into believing their scams are legitimate.

          What if someone used your name with your consent, to trick someone who into believing in something fraudulent; does it mean that you are a part of it?

          remove

  • April 24, 2016 at 8:15 AM by an anonymous user from Columbus, Ohio, United States

    How do you keep the message from coming up?

    remove

    • May 29, 2016 at 1:21 PM by an anonymous user from Kingston, Jamaica

      Remove apps that you think is displaying the message via advertisements.

      remove

 Show More Comments (13)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Fake and Spam Advertisement - "Your Android Has (5) Virus!"