Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Previous Next
»

Beware of "Outlook Closing And De-activation Notice is been Processed" Phishing Scam

2017-10-19T11:50:26 -  +
Beware of "Outlook Closing And De-activation Notice is been Processed" Phishing Scam

The email message below with the subject "Closing And De-activation Notice is been Processed," which claims that a request to shut down the recipients' accounts will be processed shortly, is a phishing scam being sent by cybercriminals to steal Microsoft Outlook or Hotmail usernames and passwords. The email message was not sent by Microsoft, but by cyber-criminals, whose intentions are to hijack email accounts and use them for malicious purposes. So, recipients of the same email message are advised to delete it, and not follow the instructions in it.

Advertisements

The "Outlook Closing And De-activation Notice is been Processed" Phishing Scam

From: Mail Service [mailto:ben.meredith@hotmail.com]

Sent: Thursday, October 19, 2017 10:33 AM

To: account-security-noreply@account.microsoft.com

Subject: Closing And De-activation Notice is been processed.

Dear User,

Our record indicates that you recently made a request to shutdown your e-mail and this request will be processed shortly.

If this request was made accidentally and you have no knowledge of it, you are advised to cancel the request now.

Cancal De-activation and sign back in to avoid automatic closure

However, if you do not cancel this request your account will be shutdown shortly and all your email data will be lost permanently.

Regards.

Email Administrator.

The link in the email message goes to a fake Outlook or Microsoft website, which will attempt to trick the cyber-criminals' potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames and passwords on the fake website, it will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts.

If you have received the same email message, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email message. And, if there is anything wrong with your account or there something that needs to be done to it, it will be shown to you after signing.

If you were tricked by the phishing email, please change your Microsoft Hotmail/Live/Outlook immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. And, when you post a comment or review, we will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Oct 19, 2017 at 5:57 PM by info

    Here is another scam:

    "From: Account Update
    Date: 20 October 2017 at 6:46:52 am AEST
    To: "no-reply@live.com"
    Subject: Account Deactivation Require Attention (View Attached Notification)

    Account Deactivation On Your Outlook Account is Been Process"

    delete


 Show More Comments (1)
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.