»

Beware of "Live Account Removal Request" Phishing Scams

 +
Beware of "Live Account Removal Request" Phishing Scams

Would you share this article with others to help inform them?

Live.com users who have received emails like the one below, which claim that their requests to remove their accounts from Live.com servers have been approved, are asked to delete them because they are phishing scams. The fake email messages are being sent by cybercriminals to steal Live usernames and passwords, by tricking Live users into visiting a phishing website that steals email account credentials.

Please continue reading below.

Sample of the "Live.com Account Removal Request" Phishing Scam

From: The live.com Accounts <nbtfghnrft@optin.masthunt.com>

Date: February 6, 2018 at 3:14:00 PM EST

Subject: Your Account is being Terminated Ticket ID [CASE:HTM396630983

Reply-To: <fhgnrtfhnrdf@optin.masthunt.com>

Hi,

This is to inform you that your request on: 2018-02-06 15-13-56 to remove your account from live.com Servers has been approved and will initiate in one hour from the exact time you open this message.

Ignore this message to continue with email removal or

If this deactivation was not requested by you Please reply to this mail directly without altering the subject.

Regards,

live.com Team

The link in the phishing email message goes to a fake or phishing Live website, which will attempt to trick the potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If Live users attempt to sign into the phishing website with their usernames and passwords, it will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts. The hijacked Live accounts will then be used by cybercriminals fraudulently.

Remember, if you receive email messages like these, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email messages. If there is anything wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. And, if you were tricked by one of these phishing scams, please change your password immediately before your Live account is hijacked. If your account has already been hijacked, click here for help regaining access to it.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses and telephone numbers in email samples on this website may have been impersonated.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. Also, anonymous posts cannot be deleted or edited, and when you make a post, we will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Please continue reading below.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Feb 26, 2018 at 6:04 PM by an anonymous user from San Jose, California, United States

    Received this message this date and knew immediately that it was a scam. I am glad that live.com put this in my junk folder automatically. I have deleted it and blocked the sender.

    remove

 Show More Comments (1)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.