Previous    Next
Warning: JavaScript is turned off! Some features on this website will not work without it.

Beware of "Account Closure 15 Hours Remaining" Microsoft Outlook Phishing Scam

Beware of "Account Closure 15 Hours Remaining" Microsoft Outlook Phishing Scam

The email message below with the subject: "Account Closure 15 Hours Remaining," which claims that the recipients' Microsoft Outlook will be trashed or deleted permanently if they do not confirm their details, is a phishing scam created to steal Microsoft Outlook or Hotmail user names and passwords. The email message was not sent by Microsoft, but by cyber-criminals, whose intentions are to hijack email accounts and use them for malicious purposes. So, recipients of the same email message are advised to delete it, and not follow the instructions in it.

Please continue reading below.

The Phishing Microsoft Outlook Email Message

From: Outlook Team ngbdoc@rplogistics.cc
Date: 26 January 2017 at 14:39:50 GMT
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
Subject: Account Closure 15 Hours Remaining

Microsoft

Dear User

Since November Last Year you have neglected our notifications that your account needs reconfirmation. We detected that this account was registered using false identity which is against Microsoft protocols.

Click here to confirm your details.

Note: If you don't comply, your mail box will be trashed down permanently. You have been given 15hours deadline.

Thank you,
Support
Microsoft Security Assistant

Thanks, The Microsoft account team
Outlook team! ©2017 All Rights Reserved

The link in the email message goes to a fake Outlook or Microsoft website, which will attempt to trick the cyber-criminals' potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames and passwords on the fake website, it will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts.

If you have received the same email message, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email message. And, if there is anything wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing into account. If you were tricked by the phishing email, please change your Microsoft Hotmail/Live/Outlook immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.

This scam is similar to the following:

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article, by leaving a comment below. And, please report malicious, phishing or scam email messages, social media posts and websites to us using this email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com .

Tell us if you LIKE this article by clicking the following thumbs-up, or click the thumbs-down if you dislike it:

       Rating - Thumb up          Rating - Thumb down 0   
Alert and help your family and friends by sharing this article with them:
Submit Your Comment or Question

Submit your comment or question in the box below to share what you know or to get answers about this article.

CommentComments or Questions (0)