Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
»

Beware of "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 11.5" Email Scam

2017-07-05T11:33:50 -  +
Beware of "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 11.5" Email Scam

Yahoo users, if you have received email messages claiming that you need to upgrade to Yahoo Mail 11.5 and threaten to close your accounts permanently if you do not, please delete the same email messages and do not follow the instructions in them. This is because the email messages are phishing scams being sent by cyber criminals to trick Yahoo users into clicking on the link in them, which goes to phishing websites that steal Yahoo usernames and passwords.

Please continue below.

A Sample of the "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 11.5" Email Scam

From: Email <[email protected]rn.edu>

Date: Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 6:34 AM

Subject: Urgent

YAHOO!

Your Mail version is outdated,

Failure to Upgrade to the newest Yahoo Mail 11.5 now will result to a permanent account closure.

To upgrade follow the link below and accept our new terms and conditions.Please VERIFY NOW.

Thanks,

Yahoo! Mail Team

Please do not reply to this message. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered

Yahoo users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts; they should instead, go directly to mail.yahoo.com or yahoo.com and sign-in from there. Once they are signed in, they will be alerted to updates, changes or other important notifications. Going directly to Yahoo’s website to sign into their accounts, will protect Yahoo users from phishing links that go to fake websites that steal usernames and passwords. Phishing websites steal their visitors’ usernames and passwords by asking them to sign into their accounts on the same fake website. Once visitors to the websites attempt to sign-in, their usernames and passwords (credentials) will be sent to the cybercriminals responsible for the phishing websites. As soon as the cyber criminals receive their potential victims’ usernames and passwords, they will sign into their accounts, hijack and use them fraudulently.

Yahoo users who have been tricked by the "Update to Yahoo Mail 11.5" or "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 11.5" email scam, are asked to change their Yahoo passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently.

Related article:

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: [email protected]

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: 2017-07-11T18:39:54 by info

    Here is another scam:

    ----- Forwarded Message -----
    From: Yahoo Mail
    Sent: Tuesday, July 11, 2017, 3:45:06 PM CDT
    Subject: Your account is outdated

    Dear User,

    Your Mail version is outdated, failure to update to the newest
    Yahoo Mail 11.1.23 will result to a permanent account closure.

    According to provision 1.9 of Terms and Conditions
    Yahoo may at any time terminate its services for your account.

    Follow the link below to update and accept our new terms and conditions.

    UPDATE MY ACCOUNT

    Thanks for taking these additional steps to keep your account safe.

    Sincerely,
    Yahoo! Mail"

    delete


Show More of the 1 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.