Online Threat Alerts (OTA) - Alerting you to scams and frauds.
The "It Looks Like You" post below, an old Facebook scam, has resurfaced using the new name or message "Its You in This Video." The scam displays an image like the one below, displaying a message claiming the potential victims are in the video. This is how the cybercriminals behind the scam trick curious Facebook users into clicking the malicious link in it. The link goes to a fake and phishing Facebook page that steals account credentials and personal information. Facebook users who have clicked the link may also be taken to malicious and spam websites.
Once the cybercrimanals responsible for the scam has gotten their potential victims' Facebook account credentials, they will use it to post the same scam to their friends and may use the hacked Facebook accounts maliciously and fraudulently.
If you were tricked by the scam, please change your Facebook password and delete any "Its You in This Video" posts that was made by the scammers. And, you may share this article to help info others.
Check the comment section below for answers or additional information. Share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below.
Online Threat Alerts (OTA) is not affiliated with or endorsed by any trademark owner mentioned in this article. Some of the information in samples in this article may have been impersonated or spoofed.
0