A Sample of the "Microsoft Final Update 2018" Phishing Email
From: USER SERVER <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Date: 25 April 2018 at 2:35:26 AM NZST
Subject: LAST WARNING: Closing of your mailbox is being processed
FINAL 2018 UPDATE
This message is being sent to you to inform you that your account will expire on25/04/2018.
If you wish to continue using this account please upgrade to our services. Ignoring this message will cause the account to be closed
Update your account
Note: This upgrade is required immediately after receiving this message
Security account team
The link in the email message goes to a fake Microsoft Hotmail website, which will attempt to trick the potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames, and passwords on the fake website, the information will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack the victims' accounts.
If you receive email messages like these, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email messages. If there is anything wrong with your account or something needs to be done to it, it will be shown to you after you have signed into your account. If you were tricked by one of these malicious phishing scams, please change your Hotmail, Live or Outlook immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.
Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search
Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users. That location is not enough to find you.
Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.
Show More Comments (1)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review