»

"Gmail Account Deletion Request" Phishing Scam

 +
"Gmail Account Deletion Request" Phishing Scam

Would you share this Article with others?

Gmail users are asked to be beware of fake account deletion request emails like the one below, which claim that they need to confirm the deletion of their accounts. The fake email messages are being sent by cybercriminals, who are attempting to steal Gmail usernames and passwords, by tricking Gmail users into visiting a phishing website that steals email account credentials. Therefore, recipients of the fake emails are asked not to follow the instructions in them, and if they are in doubt, are asked to sign into their Gmail at www.gmail.com.

A "Gmail Account Deletion Request" Scam

From: Security Support Team <xzU0t4UFcBE8@xzU0t4UFcBE8.centauro.com.br>

Date: October 21, 2019 at 7:34:44 AM PDT

Subject: Confirm Gmail Account Deletion ([]@gmail.com)

Confirm Gmail Deletion ([]@gmail.com)?

Please read this carefully. It's not the usual yada yada.

Before you delete Gmail from your Goole Account, remember that you'll no longer be able to send, receive, or access email from your []@gmail.com account.

You also could lose access to services outside of Google where you use []@gmail.com. For example, if you use this email address as a recovery email for your other services, you may have difficulty resetting your password. If you proceed, you'll need to update your email address everywhere you use it outside of Google.

When you delete Gmail, your mailbox will be closed, all of its contents will be permanently deleted, and you'll lose access to your email address within 2 business days.

All of your conversations will be deleted.

☑ Yes, I want to delete []@gmail.com permanently from my Google Account or click Cancel.

DELETE GMAIL Cancel

Gmail Support Team

The link in the phishing email message goes to a fake or phishing Gmail website, which will attempt to trick the potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If Gmail users attempt to sign into the phishing website with their usernames and passwords, it will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts. The hijacked Gmail accounts will then be used by cybercriminals fraudulently.

Remember, if you receive email messages like these, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email messages. If there is anything wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. And, if you were tricked by one of these phishing scams, please change your password immediately before your Gmail account is hijacked. If your account has already been hijacked, click here for help regaining access to it.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any. Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com. And, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent. Also, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
There are no comments as yet, please leave one below or revisit.

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

"Gmail Account Deletion Request" Phishing Scam