Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Previous Next
»

Scam - "Exclusive Video - Robin Williams Says Goodbye with his Cell Phone"

2014-08-15T00:46:22 -  +
Scam - "Exclusive Video - Robin Williams Says Goodbye with his Cell Phone"

The post: "Exclusive video: Robin Williams says goodbye with his cell phone before hanging himself," is a scam created to trick Facebook users into completing surveys, "liking" or sharing a fake Facebook website. The post promises to show Facebook users a video of our favorite and beloved comedian and actor, Robin Williams, saying goodbye before hanging and cutting himself with a pocket knife.

Advertisements

But, there is no video on the fake website that you will be taken to, if you click on the post.

The Video Scam

Scam: Exclusive Video - Robin Williams Says Goodbye with his Cell Phone

Exclusive video: Robin Williams says goodbye with his cell phone before hanging himself with a belt and cutting himself with a pocket knife. He can still make everyone laugh with this video but it will make everyone cry a river at the end.

Clicking on this post (DO NOT) will only take you to a fake BBC website. The website's name may change, so look out for the same scam on different websites.

And, clicking the image, which appears as a video, on the fake web page will ask you to share.

If you attempt to share, you will only ask you to like, share the same page or complete surveys in order to verify your age. But, it is the fake page that the scammers want you to "like" or share, which will make it popular. Once the page is popular, these scammers can sell it to online marketers or other scammers. They will also make money from the surveys that are completed by gullible Facebook users who were tricked into completing them.

Now, if you have shared and "liked" this fake post, please remove all shared Facebook posts and "unlike" it.

If you are asked to share, "like”, complete surveys in order to view a video, picture or other content, is the first sign that you are being tricked or scammed. You do not need to do any of these things in order to view any content on Facebook and the rest of the internet.

Related article:

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. And, when you post a comment or review, we will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

 Show More Comments (0)
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.