Microsoft users who have received emails claiming their accounts will be closed and need to be updated or upgraded are asked to delete the same emails. This is because the emails are fakes or phishing scams being sent by cybercriminals to frighten the recipients into following the instructions in them, by tricking them into believing they will stop receiving emails and their accounts will be locked or disabled.
This why Microsoft Windows Live, Hotmail or Outlook users should never click on a link in an email message to sign into their accounts. They should always go directly to www.outlook.com, www.live.com or www.hotmail.com and sign in from there instead. Once they have signed in, they will be alerted to important notifications or changes, if there are any.
The "Microsoft Your Email will be Closed" Phishing Scam
From: E-mail Team <email@example.com>
Date: 6 December 2017 at 17:49:00 GMT+8
To: E-mail Team <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Subject: Re: Re: Your email will be closed at 06/12/2017
Your email will be closed at 06/12/2017
This message is being sent to you to inform you that your account will expire on 06/12/2017
If you wish to continue using this account please upgrade to our services. Ignoring this message will cause the account to be closed
Update your account`
Note: This upgrade is required immediately after receiving this message
Security account team