»

The "PayPal Verification Your Account" Phishing Scam

 +
The "PayPal Verification Your Account" Phishing Scam

Would you share this article with others?

PayPal users, if you have received the "Verification Your Account" email message below, which claims that you need to confirm access to their accounts for security reasons, please note that it is a phishing scam. The fake and fraudulent email message was created and sent by cybercriminals to trick PayPal users into visiting a phishing website that will steal their usernames and passwords.

The "PayPal Verification Your Account" Phishing Scam

From: Support <noreply@team.com>

Sent: Saturday, January 26, 2019 2:39 PM

Subject: Verification_your_Account

PayPal

Dear Customer

You have received this email for security reasons.We have detected an action that seems to be unauthorized by the account owner.It seems that one or more unauthorized devices was connected to your Paypal account.

We will ask you to confirm your information to access to your account.

Check My Account

The link in the fake email message goes to a fake PayPal which was created by cybercriminals to trick their potential victims into entering their PayPal username, password and credit card information on it. If the requested information is submitted by the potential victims, it will be sent to the cybercriminals, who will use it to steal their money and use their accounts fraudulently. The cyber-criminals/scammers behind the phishing email message will change the website's name, so look out for similar phishing email messages with links that go to different phishing websites.

If you are tricked into submitting your PayPal credentials and credit card information on the fake web page, please change your PayPal password immediately and contact your bank and let them know that you have submitted your credit card information on a phishing website.

Remember, never click on a link to sign into your PayPal account, always go directly to www.paypal.com and log in from there.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 2)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • January 28, 2019 at 8:58 AM by an anonymous user from Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

    I have received the letter of paymentapproval for the price they said l have won.Is true that list pay the amount of 350BGP before l can receive my fund.

    remove

    • January 28, 2019 at 9:54 AM by info

      It is a scam sent by thieves, so do not be fooled.

      remove

 Show More Comments (2)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

More on Online Threat Alerts:
The "PayPal Verification Your Account" Phishing Scam