Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

Beware of "Your Apple ID was used to Sign into an Untrusted Device" Phishing Scam

2017-09-22T09:29:33 -  +
Beware of "Your Apple ID was used to Sign into an Untrusted Device" Phishing Scam

The email message below, which claims that the recipients' Apple ID was used to sign into an untrusted device, is a phishing scam. The phishing email message is being sent by cybercriminals to trick Apple users into clicking on the link in it. The link in the email message goes to a fake Apple website that will ask visitors to sign-in. Once visitors attempt to sign into the fake website with their Apple usernames and passwords, the same information will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the phishing scam.

The "Your Apple ID was used to Sign into an Untrusted Device" Phishing Scam

From: iCloud Service <allerts-review-accounts @notification.accountsupport- suspicious-email-access-account-locked48526454236456 webappsemail mail.account.live.mail.com>

Date: September 19, 2017 at 08:59:12 GMT+1

Subject: RE : [Reminder] [ Summary Report Alert ] New Statement verify your information [ Date Update Confirmation ]

Your Apple ID was used to sign in to untrusted device.

Date and Time: 17 September 2017, 1:20 PM PST

Operating System: Windows

Browser: Chrome v.7.7.1

We need to verify your account information in order to continue using your Apple ID.

Please Verify your account information by clicking on sign in and verify your account as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Apple Support

Copyright © 2017 Apple Inc. All rights reserved.

Once the cybercriminals have received the stolen Apple usernames and passwords, they will use it to hijack their potential victims’ Apple accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, Apple users who have been tricked by the phishing scam are asked to change their Apple accounts' password, check their accounts for discrepancies and contact Apple for help if any is found.

This is another reason why Apple users should never click on links in email or other messages to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://appleid.apple.com/ and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done their accounts, they will be notified after signing in.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More of the 0 Comments
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.