"BellSouth Account Cancellation or Deactivation Request" Phishing Scams

BellSouth Account Cancellation or Deactivation Request Phishing Scams

BellSouth users, be aware of email messages like the one below, which claim that a request to terminate your accounts is being processed. The email messages are phishing scams being sent by cybercriminals to steal BellSouth usernames and passwords, by tricking BellSouth users into visiting a phishing website that steals email account credentials.

The "BellSouth Account Cancellation or Deactivation Request" Phishing Scam

On Monday, April 9, 2018 9:20 AM, bellsouth Online Services <customerssupport@att.net>

There has been a request to cancel your bellsouth account.

The request was received from your bellsouth account on april 08, 2018 22:21 GMT.

Sometimes these requests are made in error. If this deactivation was not requested by you, we ask that you submit your password in reply to this email.

Once the current password on the account is verified the deactivation request will be canceled and your account will remain active.

Be advised, once an account is deactivated it cannot be recovered.

Thank You,

The bellsouth Team

The link in the phishing email message goes to a fake or phishing BellSouth website, which will attempt to trick the potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If BellSouth users attempt to sign into the phishing website with their BellSouth usernames and passwords, it will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts. The hijacked BellSouth accounts will then be used by cybercriminals fraudulently.

Remember, if you receive email messages like these, please go directly to your account instead of clicking on the links in the email messages. If there is something wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. And, if you were tricked by one of these phishing scams, please change your password immediately before your BellSouth account is hijacked.

For victims whose accounts have already been hijacked, they should contact BellSouth for help.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Was this article helpful?  +
Share this with others:

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 7)

To protect your privacy, please remove sensitive or identifiable information from your comments, questions, or reviews. We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users when you make a post. That location is not enough to find you.

Your post will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous post cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • January 9, 2022 at 5:31 AM by an anonymous user from: Hatfield, England, United Kingdom

    Dear sirs,

    In 3 days, the same email list was sent a request for money, mentioning Amazon, from @bellsouth.net emails.

    All these cases happened as if the emails were being sent from people, on the email list, that have @bellsouth.net email accounts

    What can we do to stop this bombardment of scams?

  • April 26, 2018 at 9:38 AM by info

    Received via email:

    "Dear Sir or Madam,

    I have received several scam notes as shown below alerting me about Terminating my Bellsouth eMail account. In accordance with the directions from your internet threat service, I am forwarding this scam note to you for your reference.


    *** ***

    On Tuesday, April 24, 2018 9:51 AM, The bellsouth Accounts <supportt@bellsouth.net> wrote:

    Did you really request us to terminate your josephcronin@bellsouth.net! account?

    please if you did not, reply to this message To cancel the termination request.

    If not, All files on your mail including (Inbox, Sent, Spam, Trash, Draft) will be deleted and access to your Email address will be Denied.

    Regards, © 2018 bellsouth Inc.,"

    • May 18, 2018 at 10:06 AM by an anonymous user from: Stone Mountain, Georgia, United States

      I have received this scam notice. No, I don't want to deactivate my account.

  • April 24, 2018 at 12:55 PM by info

    Received via email:

    "Good afternoon.

    I currently have a Bellsouth email account and within the past few days, I have received in the Spam messages 2 emails from "bellsouth Online Services" with the subject titled, "Account Deactivation Request" and another email from "The bellsouth Accounts"with the subject titled, "Your account will be deactivated."

    Under no circumstance did I ever request this. I have had this email for many years and I understand that this is a phishing scam going on with many of the Bellsouth email users, including myself."

  • April 19, 2018 at 4:47 PM by an anonymous user from: San Antonio, Texas, United States

    I've been getting these for the last several days also, from "bellsouth online Services", or "the bellsouth Accounts." The first two were worded identically to the one shown above, and I deleted them, but the third one said: "your account will now be deactivated within one hour of your opening this e-mail." Of course, I did not reply, although I have a couple of choice things in mind to say to them. I wish there was a way to block e-mails the same way you can block numbers on your cell phone.

  • April 18, 2018 at 8:04 AM by an anonymous user from: Sunnyvale, California, United States

    I have 3 "spam" emails that I did NOT open. I've been getting the same email for about 4 days. The title says "Your account will be deactivated or Account deactivation request".

    The addresses are as follows:

    support@bellsouth.net (2 emails)


    I hope this helps identify the scammers.

    Also, I wanted to know it the BellSouth email sign-in is now Yahoo sign in? I now get a Yahoo sign in. I'm a little concerned.

    • April 18, 2018 at 11:55 AM by info

      BellSouth/ATT now owns Yahoo, so I don't think you need to worry. But, contact BellSouth to verify.

Comments Show More Comments (6)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

"BellSouth Account Cancellation or Deactivation Request" Phishing Scams