The "BellSouth Account Cancellation or Deactivation Request" Phishing Scam
On Monday, April 9, 2018 9:20 AM, bellsouth Online Services <email@example.com>
There has been a request to cancel your bellsouth account.
The request was received from your bellsouth account on april 08, 2018 22:21 GMT.
Sometimes these requests are made in error. If this deactivation was not requested by you, we ask that you submit your password in reply to this email.
Once the current password on the account is verified the deactivation request will be canceled and your account will remain active.
Be advised, once an account is deactivated it cannot be recovered.
The bellsouth Team
The link in the phishing email message goes to a fake or phishing BellSouth website, which will attempt to trick the potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If BellSouth users attempt to sign into the phishing website with their BellSouth usernames and passwords, it will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts. The hijacked BellSouth accounts will then be used by cybercriminals fraudulently.
Remember, if you receive email messages like these, please go directly to your account instead of clicking on the links in the email messages. If there is something wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. And, if you were tricked by one of these phishing scams, please change your password immediately before your BellSouth account is hijacked.
For victims whose accounts have already been hijacked, they should contact BellSouth for help.
Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search
Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users when you make a post. That location is not enough to find you.
Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.
Show More Comments (5)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review