Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
»

Beware of "Your Micro-soft Accοunt has Reached an Upgrade" Phishing Scam

2017-07-19T01:38:54 -  +
Beware of "Your Micro-soft Accοunt has Reached an Upgrade" Phishing Scam

Microsoft users who have received fake email messages like the one below, which claim they need to upgrade their accounts due to a recent security incident online are asked to delete them. The fake email messages have been created by cyber criminals to frighten and trick the recipients into clicking on the link within it. The link goes to a phishing website or a fake website looking like Microsoft’s website, created by cyber criminals to trick potential victims into entering their Microsoft account usernames and passwords on it, by asking them to sign in. But, any attempts to sign into the fake website, will result in the victims’ Microsoft account usernames and passwords being sent to cyber criminals.

Please continue below.

Once cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims’ account credentials (usernames and passwords), they will use it to hijack their Microsoft accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, recipients of the phishing email message (see below) who were tricked into clicking on the link within it and have attempted to sign into the phishing or fake website that they were taken, are asked to change their Microsoft account passwords immediately, before they are hijacked and used fraudulently by cybercriminals.

The "Your Micro-soft Accοunt Has Reached An Upgrade" Phishing Scam

From: MSNsupport Team <microscurity@naver.com>

Sent: July 17, 2017 10:02 AM

To: microsoft-verification@outlook.services-inc.com

Subject: ❶ Your Micrο-soft Accοunt Has Reached An Upgrade

E-mail Upgrade

We are asking users to upgrade due to recent security incidents online.

This is for your own safety to continue using your account, click the Update now button below.

Update Nοw

To opt out or change where you receive security notifications, click here.

Nοte: Please do nοt ignore this email to avοid your account been closed

Thanks,

The Micrοsοft account team.

Microsoft users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://account.microsoft.com/ and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done to their accounts, they will be notified. This is will prevent Microsoft users from visiting phishing websites disguised as legitimate Microsoft website that steals account credentials.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More of the 0 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.