"Google+ Service Notification Sent You a Message" Phishing Scam

The email message notification or reminder below, which claims that the recipients have received a message, is a fake. The fake email message is being sent by cyber criminals to trick recipients into clicking on the link within in the same email message. The link goes to a fake Google or Gmail website that will ask visitors to sign in with their email account usernames and passwords. But, once the visitors attempt to sign-in, their usernames and passwords will be sent to cybercriminals, who will use the stolen information to hijack their victims' email accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, online users who were tricked by the fake email message should change their email account passwords immediately, before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently.

Google+ Service Notification Sent You a Message Phishing Scam

Also, the link in the fake email notification may go to malicious websites where the recipients will be tricked into downloading malicious software or applications that will infect their computers or mobile devices with a virus or malware.

The "Google+ Service Notification Sent You a Message" Phishing Scam

From: Google+ Notification

Sent: Sunday, July 02, 2017 12:38 PM

Subject: New messages

Google Notification

Elizabeth Butler (Google Service) sent you a message:

7/02/2017

Returned email message.

More information

View messages

This is why Google users should never click on a link in an email message to sign into their accounts. They should instead, go directly to https://plus.google.com/ and sign into their accounts. Once they are signed in they will be able to view their Google+ notifications or new messages if there is any.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Was this article helpful?  +
Share this with others:

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

There are no comments as yet, please leave one below or revisit.

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users when you make a post. That location is not enough to find you.

Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

"Google+ Service Notification Sent You a Message" Phishing Scam