"New Login from Chrome on Mac" Phishing Scams

Apple users who have received "New Login from Chrome on Mac" email messages like the one below, which claim that someone tried to login to their Apple accounts from an unrecognized device are fakes. The fake email messages are phishing scams being sent by cyber criminals to trick their potential victims into clicking on the link in the email messages, which go to fake Apple websites that steal account credentials. Once the cyber criminals have gotten their potential victims' credentials, they will attempt to gain access their accounts and use them fraudulently.

New Login from Chrome on Mac Phishing Scams

Therefore, Apple users who have already been tricked by the phishing scam are asked to change their passwords and check their accounts thoroughly for any discrepancies. And, for those whose accounts have already been hijacked, are asked to contact Apple for help.

Sample of the "Apple New Login from Chrome" Phishing Scam

From: Wu, Anqi

Sent: Saturday, January 13, 2018 8:56 AM

Subject: New login from Chrome on Mac

This is to notify you that our system has detected several attempts to access your email account from an unrecognized device.

New login from Chrome on Mac

Saturday, January 13, 2017 at 1:22 am.

Manassas, Virginia, United States*

If you don’t recognize this activity,

we strongly recommend you review your account to save your current IP in our database.

Otherwise, you can disregard this message

. Why are we sending this?

We didn’t recognize the browser or device you used to log into your email account.

This could be the result of accessing your account from a new or public computer or

changing your browser settings, but it could also be a sign of unauthorized account activity.

Protect yourself from phishing emails

We will never ask for your password in an email. If you don’t trust a link in an email,

go directly to the normal login page at here

Apple users should never click on a link, especially in email messages, to sign into their accounts. If they have received similar email messages like the one above, they should always go directly to https://appleid.apple.com/ and sign into their accounts from there. If there is something wrong with their accounts or they need to do something to their accounts, they will be notified after signing in.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Was this article helpful?  +
Share this with others:

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 4)

To protect your privacy, please remove sensitive information from your comments, questions, or reviews. We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users when you make a post. That location is not enough to find you.

Your post will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous post cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • December 23, 2019 at 7:00 AM by info

    "From: Notification! <fb45@tempatrefreshing.com>

    Date: December 2, 2019 at 1:30:01 PM EST

    Subject: Re: Login alert for Chrome on Mac



    A user has just signed in to your Facebo0k Account from a new device.

    We are sending you this email to verify that it is you.

    Click here to contact us.

    Location:Mumbai India

    Yes me!

    Not me!

    This message was sent to You..."

    Here is another scam.

  • April 29, 2018 at 9:37 AM by info

    Here is another scam:

    "Van: iCIoud Support ID <botakmemangtaksempurnabutuhat mbnidancal picosodakopihiteam-124@iniberbahaya.net>

    Datum: 28 april 2018 om 23:38:02 CEST

    Aan: undisclosed-recipients:;

    Onderwerp: RE : [ Summary Report ] [ Alert ] : Statement New Login Attempt From Google Chrome As Guest User Agent Submitted Account Data And Checking Account [ 44101-19581-18571 ]"

  • January 19, 2018 at 10:56 AM by an anonymous user from: London, England, United Kingdom

    Received this email and think it's not legit as I have never been to this place in Scotland. It came from Twitter <verify@twitter.com

    "We noticed a recent login for your account @Shutak59.

    Device SafarI on iPad

    Location* Arbroath, Scotland

    *Location is approximate based on the login's IP address.

    If this was you:

    Great! There's nothing else you need to do.

    If this wasn’t you:

    Your account may have been compromised and you should take a few steps to make sure your account is secure. To start, reset your password now."

    • January 19, 2018 at 11:03 AM by info

      It is a scam.

Comments Show More Comments (3)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

"New Login from Chrome on Mac" Phishing Scams