Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
»

Beware of "Microsoft Outlook Account Upgrade" Phishing Scam

2018-03-08T09:26:03 -  +
Beware of "Microsoft Outlook Account Upgrade" Phishing Scam

The "Microsoft Outlook Account Upgrade" email below, which claims the recipients' accounts will be closed and they must click the link within the same emails to cancel the deactivation process, are asked to delete them. This is because the emails are fakes and are phishing scams was created and sent by cybercriminals to steal Microsoft account usernames and passwords, with the intention of hijacking the email accounts and using them maliciously or fraudulently. Therefore, recipients of the same email message are advised to delete it, and not follow the instructions in it.

Please continue below.

The "Microsoft Outlook Account Upgrade" Phishing Scam

From: Microsotf Account Team <petitefillethai@hotmail.com>

Sent: Thursday, March 8, 2018 9:19 AM

To: noreply@microsoftaccount.com

Subject: Account Deactivation

Your account will be close on 2018/03/09, to avoid kindly see attached file to stop.

Thanks

Microsoft 2018

Account Update

This message is being sent to you to inform you that your account will be closed after this final warning

If you wish to continue using this account please upgrade to our services. Ignoring this message will cause the account to be closed

Click here to upgrade

Note: This upgrade is required immediately after receiving this message

Thank you

Account admin

The link in the email message goes to a fake Outlook or Microsoft website, which will attempt to trick the cyber-criminals' potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames and passwords on the fake website, it will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts.

If you have received the same email message, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email message. And, if there is anything wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after you have signed into it. If you were tricked by the phishing email, please change your Microsoft Hotmail/Live/Outlook immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: 2018-04-11T11:10:06 by info

    Here is another scam:

    "From: Microsoft Outlook
    Sent: 11 April 2018 04:07
    Subject: Server Notice 2018 (c)

    Microsoft Outlook E-mail Account Upgrade

    Outlook User,

    Your mailbox has exceeded it's mail-quota and due for upgrade.
    kindly follow the upgrade button below to upgrade your account security automatically.

    Click here to re-sign in and upgrade your account

    However, if you do not upgrade your account, your incoming mails will be returned back to the sender by mail server.

    Regards.
    Outlook Service Team"

    delete


Show More of the 1 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.