Beware of "OMG Horrible Accident Must Watch" Facebook Malicious Application
January 5, 2013
If the Facebook post "OMG Horrible accident must watch...Watch Your Video Here" has been posted on your Facebook Wall or Timeline, please do not click on it or the link it displays. This is a malicious Facebook application with the name "YouTube". This application has nothing to do with the video sharing website YouTube.com. The application wants to trick you into giving it access to your Facebook account, so that it can tag a picture of itself (see below) to all your Facebook friends.
Please continue reading below.
The malicious Facebook application lures its victims in, by posting a graphic photo of an accident, claiming that you can watch the video. There is no video.
The Malicious Facebook Application
OMG Horrible accident must watch.........................Watch Your Video Here ---> http://bit.ly/X97L3R
It will tag the above photo to all your Facebook friends if you give it access to your Facebook account. It will also redirect you to the following website:
If you click on any of the links on the website, you will be redirected to this malicious website: http://rogena.net/. The website will only redirect you to online advertisements and possibly, to other malicious websites. It was blocked by my antivirus software:
This is where the Facebook application is located; please do not follow the link.
If you have already given this malicious application access to your Facebook account, you can remove it by clicking on the link below and followng the instructions on the page that you will be taken:
The name of the application to remove is "YouTube."
Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article, by leaving a comment below. And, forward malicious email messages to us using the following email address: email@example.com .
Alert and help your family and friends by sharing this article with them: