Online Threat Alerts (OTA) - Alerting you to scams and frauds.
Whatsapp has changed or updated its group settings to include "everyone" by default. This will allow people you don't know to add you to a group without you knowing. Before the change, only telephone numbers saved to your contact list would have been allowed to add you to a group. And, if someone whose telephone number is not in your contact list attempts to add you to a group, he/she will be prompted by the app to send you a private invite through individual chat. This would give you the choice of joining the new group or ignore the invite which would expire in 3 days.
If you are concerned about your privacy and do not want anyone to add you to a WhatsApp group without your consent, you may change your Whatsapp Group Settings from "Everyone" to "My Contacts".
Check the comment section below for answers or additional information. Share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below.
Online Threat Alerts (OTA) is not affiliated with or endorsed by any trademark owner mentioned in this article. Some of the information in samples in this article may have been impersonated or spoofed.
0