No internet connection

No Internet Connection Detected

The "Yahoo Closing of your mailbox is Being Processed" Phishing Scam

Yahoo users, if you have received the "Closing of your mailbox is Being Processed" email message below, which claims the processing of your incoming emails will be stopped, please delete the same email and do not follow the instructions in it. This is because the email is phishing scam being sent by cybercriminals to trick Yahoo users into clicking on the link in them, which goes to phishing websites that steal Yahoo usernames and passwords.

The Yahoo Closing of your mailbox is Being Processed Phishing Scam
Advertisement

The "Closing of your mailbox is Being Processed" Email Scam

From: YAHOO! <byabusha@yahoo.com>

Sent: Thursday, March 28, 2019, 10:30:53 AM EDT

Subject: Important Update: Closing of your mailbox is being processed

Yahoo Upgrade

This is to notify you for the final time that we will stopped processing incoming email and files on your account

Since you have refused to upgrade your account to our new service and we will be forced to De-activate your account if this notice is ignored

UPGRADE NOW

Note: This upgrade is required immediately after receiving this message.

Thanks,

Account team ©2019.

Yahoo users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts; they should instead, go directly to mail.yahoo.com or yahoo.com and sign-in from there. Once they are signed in, they will be alerted to updates, changes or other important notifications. Going directly to Yahoo’s website to sign into their accounts, will protect Yahoo users from phishing links that go to fake websites that steal usernames and passwords. Phishing websites steal their visitors’ usernames and passwords by asking them to sign into their accounts on the same fake website. Once visitors to the websites attempt to sign-in, their usernames and passwords (credentials) will be sent to the cybercriminals responsible for the phishing websites. As soon as the cyber criminals receive their potential victims’ usernames and passwords, they will sign into their accounts, hijack and use them fraudulently.

Yahoo users who have been tricked by the "Update to Yahoo Mail 7.1" or "Yahoo Warning Mailbox Limited" email scam, are asked to change their Yahoo passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Click here help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Would you share this article with others?  +

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 1)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.
Advertisement

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • October 5, 2020 at 10:28 AM by info

    "From: Yahoo Mail <johandewaal1@yahoo.com>

    Date: 05 October 2020 at 09:28:19 GMT 4

    Subject: ✅ Reminder: Notice Mailbox Closure Approved Terms of Service & Privacy Policy To Avoid The Suspension.

    Yahoo Mail

    We want to inform you once more that we will stop processing incoming emails on your mailbox because you have refused to update your account security.

    We might be forced to lock up your mailbox if you ignore notice.

    Kindly open the attachment below to update your account security.

    This restriction will be disabled immediately we confirm your security update is successful.

    We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

    We hope you enjoy this new feature!

    ‌ Sincerely,

    The Yahoo Mail Team

    ©2020 Verizon Media Inc"

    Here is another scam.

Comments Show More Comments (0)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your post will be set as an anonymous because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Recommendations / Ads
The "Yahoo Closing of your mailbox is Being Processed" Phishing Scam