No internet connection

No Internet Connection Detected

Is CHWRF Grant a Scam? Review of the Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund

The CHWRF grant being offered at www.chwrf.ca is not a scam. Chwrf.ca is the legitimate Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund (CHWRF) website. The Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund (CHWRF) has started accepting application forms at www.chwrf.ca and will provide $500 one-time grants intended to help with day-to-day expenses for furloughed or impacted workers. The grants will be provided on a first-come-first-served basis, so if you’re eligible, be sure to submit your application once they open on May 6th.

Is CHWRF Grant a Scam? Review of the Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund
Advertisement

The Canadian restaurant industry is suffering as many restaurant and hospitality workers find themselves without work and in need of financial assistance.

About CHWRF (Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund) Grant

CHWRF at www.chwrf.ca - Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund

chwrf.ca

chwrf grant



Click here help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA).
Would you share this review with others?  +

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 61)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.
Advertisement

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • May 30, 2020 at 1:15 AM by an anonymous user from: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

    I just got an email saying that "You will receive a one time $500 INTERAC e-Transfer from The “Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund” in the next 24 hours. You must have access to online banking to receive the funds.

    • May 30, 2020 at 9:50 PM by an anonymous user from: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

      I did too but so far nothing has been deposited. Maybe it is a scam.

      • May 31, 2020 at 4:46 AM by an anonymous user from: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

        I got the money already just today.

        • May 31, 2020 at 11:17 AM by an anonymous user from: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

          Me too, very nice

  • May 26, 2020 at 6:24 PM by an anonymous user from: Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada

    Not a scam, I was approved today.

    • May 26, 2020 at 7:42 PM by an anonymous user from: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

      Did you put your email address on the auto-deposit?

  • May 7, 2020 at 10:49 PM by an anonymous user from: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

    Try to do it at midnight. Worked for me at 1:30 am.

  • May 7, 2020 at 12:17 PM by an anonymous user from: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

    Got through last night. It’s not a guaranteed thing, and you need patience to get it to go through. Any website getting hundreds of thousands of people trying to go on at the same time, is going to do the same thing.

  • May 7, 2020 at 3:18 AM by an anonymous user from: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    Worked for me at 12:30am Pacific time. I too had tried unsuccessfully throughout the day...try now..Hope you get in

  • May 7, 2020 at 1:00 AM by an anonymous user from: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    the h**l if everyone gets tired of it and nobody so far been through, where is that 1 million goes, and may few people that been able through only were staffs of CHWRF

    good luck all.

  • May 7, 2020 at 12:41 AM by an anonymous user from: Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada

    It’s not working. 507 gateway. Tried 10 times today

  • May 6, 2020 at 10:30 PM by an anonymous user from: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    It is still not working. It sucked.

  • May 6, 2020 at 10:08 PM by an anonymous user from: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    I have tried so far. But it is still not working. It sucked!

    • May 6, 2020 at 11:42 PM by an anonymous user from: Canada

      I have been on it all day and it keeps coming back as an error"get away 502" or something.. I'm sick and tired of this.

    • May 6, 2020 at 10:52 PM by an anonymous user from: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

      I have been trying all day since it opened, 504 gateway every time

  • May 6, 2020 at 9:07 PM by an anonymous user from: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    it works now, go go go

  • May 6, 2020 at 8:53 PM by an anonymous user from: Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada

    I just got through! 6:50 pm pst

  • May 6, 2020 at 8:46 PM by an anonymous user from: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    I got confirmation

  • May 6, 2020 at 8:12 PM by an anonymous user from: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    Why did they ask for the first 3 digits of our SINs? That felt sketchy.

  • May 6, 2020 at 7:49 PM by an anonymous user from: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

    Since 12.02 site didn’t work because of database crashed so how come the post the got overwhelmed applications

    It’s totally scam.

    There is no phone number

    No email for this chArity organization.

    Looks like they are fooling us and

    going to take the whole money.

  • May 6, 2020 at 7:43 PM by an anonymous user from: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

    Same thing! I tried a couple of times during the day! The first time I filled it out but it wouldn’t submit it! Really frustrating!

  • May 6, 2020 at 7:36 PM by an anonymous user from: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    Well, that really sucked. I have been trying since 12:10 on 2-3 phones and got the application finished then it would not submit. That was 6.5 hours then all of a sudden it no longer taking applications. Just very upset that I didn't get through and tried the entire day when most likely it was full in first 30 minutes.

  • May 6, 2020 at 7:27 PM by an anonymous user from: Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada

    2000 grants for 180,000 people in the industry that were affected, I think it was a long shot, to begin with

  • May 6, 2020 at 7:20 PM by an anonymous user from: Surrey, British Columbia, Canada

    It’s just fantastic how they push all the relief funding... BUT TRY and get it... so sad.

  • May 6, 2020 at 7:17 PM by an anonymous user from: Penticton, British Columbia, Canada

    I can't get on to the site. 5 pm pacific standard time May 7

  • May 6, 2020 at 7:06 PM by an anonymous user from: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    I think this is April fools day, they are kidding when I complete my application many times. I tried since 9:00 am, very frustrated when I submit got error gateway timeout again and again and again. This is a joke, they shut down the site

    • May 6, 2020 at 7:47 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

      I was just going to let everyone know. I filled it out over and over, all day.

  • May 6, 2020 at 6:35 PM by an anonymous user from: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

    Still 504 Gateway timeout, I tried from 12.01 pm until now it is not connecting.

    their server is in Brampton. but their database is not connecting. It looks like too many requests to the server they should plan this ahead. what's the answer from that organization?

  • May 6, 2020 at 6:34 PM by an anonymous user from: Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada

    Been getting the same 504 Gateway Time-out error

  • May 6, 2020 at 6:31 PM by an anonymous user from: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    I tried since 9 am till now almost 4:40 pm still can't submit

    • May 6, 2020 at 7:55 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

      Do you know it's finished? They closed it. I hope you got through I never did. Just thought I'd let people know

  • May 6, 2020 at 6:12 PM by an anonymous user from: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    This is so ridiculous

    • May 6, 2020 at 7:54 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

      Do you know it's finished? They closed it. I hope you got through I never did. Just thought I'd let people know.

  • May 6, 2020 at 6:06 PM by an anonymous user from: Mermaid, Prince Edward Island, Canada

    I was trying to submit my application for the past 7 hours since it went live. Got 502/503/504 Bad Gateway errors, Gateway Timeout errors, and DNS connection timeout errors. I was unable to submit my application prior to the message being posted that they've suspended taking applications.

    This is incredibly unfair to those looking to apply. I'm one of those who have slipped between the cracks and don't qualify for federal or provincial assistance and this $500 would have kept me from going further into debt.

    The organizers should have anticipated high volumes and set up their servers accordingly to handle the traffic.

  • May 6, 2020 at 5:54 PM by an anonymous user from: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    I don’t think anyone could submit the documents. I talked to all my friends, they said the same thing, probably just for publicity, they said they are helping but I don’t think anyone gets anything, it’s first come first serve

    • May 6, 2020 at 8:04 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

      Both my husband and I lost our jobs March 17th, that money really would have helped. I was sitting with everything ready to go 15 minutes before it opened, I filled in the application countless times, I must have tried to submit it 200-300 times, I really don't know. Sometimes it would say it had uploaded 100% but would then give one of the errors you mentioned. I just saw at 8:30 that they had shut it down.

      I only left my computer twice for 10 minutes all day. So frustrating. I've never been in a position in my life that I couldn't earn money. I've worked everyday of my life for 25 years, never taken a penny from the government until COVID-19. I thought this being on my birthday was a sign,,,😂 lol. Oh well, hopefully one of your applications snuck through. I really hope you get it! Good luck!

  • May 6, 2020 at 5:54 PM by an anonymous user from: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    I had the same problem tried at an exact time until 6 hours later. I was saying error, finally, after so many times trying to get in I got into the form. Did the form and when I was submitting was saying error/time out.

    I’m sure nobody could get into the form. If you don’t want to pay why you are playing with people?

    • May 6, 2020 at 8:06 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

      Exact same for me. I did it over and over and over, all day. Hopefully one of yours got through. Good Luck!

  • May 6, 2020 at 5:51 PM by an anonymous user from: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

    It's either a situation that it's maxed out ($1,000,000 divided by $500 is 2,000 people), or it's overloaded with so many applicants. Was not successful in getting through. Kept getting the same error message.

  • May 6, 2020 at 5:32 PM by an anonymous user from: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    I have been refreshing for the past 6 hours and now it says they are not accepting new applications. Did anyone actually get through?

    • May 6, 2020 at 7:22 PM by an anonymous user from: Lac La Biche, Alberta, Canada

      I was on the same page.. how many time I send the form but it looks like error..error again.

      not successful. Waiting for 5hrs then I quit.

  • May 6, 2020 at 5:06 PM by an anonymous user from: Penticton, British Columbia, Canada

    can not submit the form. I tried several times but 504 gateway time out error shows up. What should I do so? If I do not do it today I will miss it as it is first time, first serve.

  • May 6, 2020 at 4:35 PM by an anonymous user from: Prince George, British Columbia, Canada

    still no change to the gateway time-out

  • May 6, 2020 at 4:29 PM by an anonymous user from: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    It’s still down

  • May 6, 2020 at 4:23 PM by an anonymous user from: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    Has anyone out there been able to successfully apply for the CherI grant

    • May 6, 2020 at 7:20 PM by an anonymous user from: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

      I also have had lots of problems with this site

  • May 6, 2020 at 4:17 PM by an anonymous user from: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

    I tried as well, both at noon at 3:30 both times. I got a time out error 502 and 504... gave up.

  • May 6, 2020 at 4:13 PM by an anonymous user from: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

    Same thing to me - being trying all day:(

  • May 6, 2020 at 3:51 PM by an anonymous user from: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    The same thing. I been trying for so long, no update yet. I don’t know if it says first come, first serve

  • May 6, 2020 at 3:24 PM by an anonymous user from: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    I can not submit the form. I tried several times but 504 gateway time out error shows up. What should I do so? If I do not do it today I will miss it as it is first time, first serve.

    • May 6, 2020 at 3:52 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

      ya me too, the sites been doing it all day

    • May 6, 2020 at 3:35 PM by info

      Everybody is getting the same error, therefore, keep checking every few hours. If I get more information, I will post it here.

  • May 6, 2020 at 3:17 PM by an anonymous user from: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    I started at 12 pm today when the website started accepting applications but I have been getting the same error message "504 Gateway Time-out" error. I can only fill the application but have been unable to submit it thus far?

    • May 6, 2020 at 5:51 PM by an anonymous user from: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

      I could not get the Application forms even!

    • May 6, 2020 at 5:01 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

      I was waiting at 11:45 with all my info ready to go. I've only left my computer twice to go to the washroom, no luck, getting really frustrated.

    • May 6, 2020 at 4:06 PM by an anonymous user from: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

      Same here. I have been trying all morning

  • May 6, 2020 at 3:07 PM by info

    Chwrf.ca is the legitimate Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund (CHWRF) website although it is currently down. I am getting a "504 Gateway Time-out" error. I am guessing the website is down due to the number of visitors or traffic to it.

    • May 6, 2020 at 3:25 PM by an anonymous user from: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

      I'm glad I'm not the only one

      • May 6, 2020 at 7:36 PM by an anonymous user from: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

        Me too! I'm in Niagara Falls, now I can't even get the application to open. I've filled it in 40 plus times today, submitted it 100 plus and it always gives an error message or kicks me right out.

      • May 6, 2020 at 4:39 PM by an anonymous user from: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

        Ya me too 😢 so sad

    • May 6, 2020 at 3:16 PM by an anonymous user from: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

      Any luck? Or sign of hope?

Comments Show More Reviews (60)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your post will be set as an anonymous because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Advertisement
Is CHWRF Grant a Scam? Review of the Canadian Hospitality Worker Relief Fund