Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.

Beware of "Gmail This Mailbox Has Been Reported And Will Be Closed" Phishing Scam

-  +
Beware of "Gmail This Mailbox Has Been Reported And Will Be Closed" Phishing Scam

Gmail users, if you have received the email below, which claims that Google has decided to close your Gmail accounts, please delete it because it is a scam. The fake email message contains links that go to, or an attachment which has, a phishing website that steals Google account usernames and passwords. The phishing website looks exactly like Google’ own website, which makes it easier to trick Gmail or Google users into believing the fake website is legitimate.

Please continue below.

Therefore, recipients of the fake email message (see sample below) should delete it and not follow the instructions in it. And, Gmail or Google users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to www.gmail.com and sign-in from there. And, if something is wrong with their accounts, they will be notified after signing in. Doing this will prevent Google users from visiting fake Gmail or Google websites that steal account credentials, personal and financial information.

The "Gmail This Mailbox Has Been Reported And Will Be Closed" Phishing Email

From: "Account update" <wallingfordartclub@hotmail.com>

Date: 31 Oct 2017 05:39

Subject: This Mailbox Has Been Reported And Will Be Closed

To: "no-reply@accounts.security.com" <no-reply@accounts.security.com>

Google has Decided to Close your Account

Google

NOTICE

Dear Email Client,

In line with the Gmail's policy and pursuant to the terms and conditions of the account accepted by you, in accordance with applicable rules and regulations, We are reviewing all our accounts and pursuant to the review, Google may take extra decision to close certain accounts.

Therefore, Google has decided to close your account. If you still want to maintain your account with us, find in the attached our account review and update instruction. This is valid for 72-Hours

In case we don't hear from you within the above stated time period, Google will proceed to close your account after 30 days from the date of this notice. All the contents of your account will be permanently deleted.

Regards

Gmail Team

This email can't receive replies. For more information, visit the Google Accounts Help Centre.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 2)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Nov 1, 2017 by an anonymous user from or near: Riyadh (Al Jazirah), Ar Riya?, Saudi Arabia

    I've received exactly the same email couple minutes ago; I was about to click 'Update' button, then I immediately realized that this alert must be SPAM as my email cannot be described as "unused" as indicated in the alert received.
    Your post is really helpful, thanks.

    delete


  • Posted: Oct 31, 2017 by an anonymous user from or near: Tuscola, Texas, United States

    I received this email this morning.

    delete


Show More of the 2 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.


My Account About us Advertise with us Donate to OTA Report Cyber Threats RSS Feed Contact us Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy

This site uses cookies to offer you a complete experience. Learn more.

Copyright © 2012 - 2018 - Online Threat Alerts.