Yahoo users who have received emails claiming their accounts will be closed and need to be updated or upgraded are asked to delete the same emails. This is because the emails are fakes or phishing scams being sent by cybercriminals to frighten the recipients into following the instructions in them, by tricking them into believing they will stop receiving emails and their accounts will be locked or disabled.
This why Yahoo Windows Live, Hotmail or Outlook users should never click on a link in an email message to sign into their accounts. They should always go directly to mail.yahoo.com and sign in from there instead. Once they have signed in, they will be alerted to important notifications or changes, if there are any.
The "Yahoo Your Email will be Closed" Phishing Scam
Date: Friday, March 16, 2018, 2:14 am
From: Yahoo Alert!!! <email@example.com>
Your email will be closed at 31/03/2018
This message is being sent to you expire on 01/04/2018
If you wish to continue using this account, please upgrade to our services. Ignoring this message will cause the account to be closed
Update your account
Note: This upgrade is required immediately after receiving this message